With so many uninsured motorists on the streets, it may come as a surprise to many that driving without insurance can carry some stiff penalties and punishment depending on where you are. Driving without insurance is not just a risk to a driver’s assets and finances, but it is also particularly problematic and unfair for victims of accidents due to the negligence of an uninsured motorist. Nevada has implemented a series of strict measures and oversight to try to curb the rising numbers of uninsured motorists traveling along the roads in the state.
The Insurance Requirements for Operating a Motor Vehicle in Nevada
Nevada laws require that every motor vehicle has liability vehicle insurance in order to be operated on the streets. While comprehensive and collision coverage is always a good idea to protect yourself and others in the event of extensive property damage the requirements of Nevada insurance laws apply only to liability insurance. Additional coverage beyond the minimum requirements of the liability insurance is optional and up to the discretion of a vehicle owner.
Requirements for a motor vehicle liability insurance policy in Nevada:
- Minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- Minimum of $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident
- Minimum of $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident
For a free legal consultation, call 702-602-HURT
How Does Nevada Track Whether Drivers Are in Compliance with Insurance Requirements?
Some states may operate on an honor system for car insurance requirements or that you are only potentially in trouble if you are caught driving without insurance by police. However, in Nevada, there is a system that monitors each registered vehicle and validates whether there is active insurance covering it. Nevada uses the LIVE (Liability Insurance Validated Electronically) system to track and follow insurance coverage for motorists throughout the state.
Insurance companies are required to update the system electronically with the information of their insured drivers. When a vehicle no longer shows active coverage, the owner of the vehicle is sent a postcard requesting verification of insurance coverage within a specific time. If a vehicle owner fails to maintain insurance coverage and provide proof to the state, they are subject to the penalties of driving without insurance in Nevada.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Nevada
The state does not take driving without insurance lightly. Under Nevada laws, driving without insurance is a criminal misdemeanor that is subject to various consequences including the suspension of the driver’s license, fines, and additional fees and requirements. A driver in violation of the state’s liability insurance policy mandate will face consequences depending on their prior offenses for driving without insurance.
A first offense can cause a driver to face fines ranging from $250 to over $1,000, a suspension of their license until proof of insurance is provided, a reinstatement fee, and additional paperwork such as an SR-22 to prove your auto insurance policy meets the requirements of the law. On the other hand, a third offense for driving without insurance can cause a driver to face fines ranging from $500 to over $1,000, a reinstatement fee of over $750, and an automatic one-month suspension of the driver’s license.
Other Consequences a Driver Can Face After Driving without Insurance
While some people may focus their concern on the legal penalties of driving without insurance in Nevada, there are some other consequences that can have profound effects on your finances and ability to drive in the state. Violations and a history of driving without insurance can make the task of finding reasonable car insurance rates impossible. While you are not likely to be denied coverage for these offenses, you may face astronomical costs to insure your vehicle.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What Happens If You Are in an Accident without Insurance?
An individual who is in an accident without motor vehicle liability insurance according to Nevada’s requirements will face fines and potential suspension of their license regardless of who is at fault for the collision. If an individual is at fault for the accident and has no insurance, then they will be personally liable for any and all damages that arise from the accident, including both the costs of personal injuries, property damage, and other losses.
If an individual does not have insurance but is not primarily at fault for the collision, they can still pursue compensation for their losses against the party at fault. However, if an insurer determines that the uninsured driver has some portion of the blame for the accident, then the driver will be personally responsible for the percentage of negligence attributed to them and will not have the coverage from their own insurance to cover their losses.
Do You Need an Attorney If You Are in an Accident with an Uninsured Driver?
Any time you are in an accident, you should seek the counsel of a car accident attorney. When you find yourself the victim of an accident with an uninsured driver in Nevada, your path to the collection of compensation can be complex and challenging. You should immediately contact a car accident attorney following a crash where you are a victim of another’s negligence.
A lawyer will work with you to file a claim with the available insurance coverage and, if the other driver is uninsured, will work with you to find what options are available to you, whether it is through your own personal insurance or an uninsured motorist policy.
Contact a Nevada Car Accident Attorney After an Accident
If you or someone you love is in a motor vehicle accident, contact a car accident attorney for a free case evaluation. A lawyer will help you discover who may be liable to you and what insurance policies apply in your case to help you get the compensation you deserve.