Driving without insurance is against the law. Every driver in Nevada must have car insurance. Whether you’re driving through, a tourist on a visit, or you live here, car insurance is a must in Nevada.
Many states will punish offenders by fining them and possibly revoking their license. But many people can get away with driving without insurance as long as they’re extremely careful because the only way they get caught is if they’re pulled over and can’t provide proof of insurance.
Nevada, however, is much more aggressive. If you have been caught without car insurance, you need a legal advocate, someone who has your best interests in mind and who can guide you to a suitable outcome.
Nevada Insurance Requirements
Some people don’t like to pay insurance premiums. We get it. You’d rather spend your money elsewhere, especially when it seems like you may never even need to use the insurance coverage. But Nevada requires every driver to carry automobile insurance that meets certain standards:
- Each driver must carry a policy with $25,000 or more in bodily injury or death liability coverage per person, per accident
- Each driver must carry a policy with $50,000 or more in bodily injury or death liability coverage for two or more people, per accident
- Each driver must carry a policy with $20,000 or more in property damage liability coverage, per accident
This minimum coverage is necessary to ensure that anyone injured on Nevada roads gets the medical attention they need without worrying about the initial emergency costs. If you choose not to carry at least the minimum car insurance coverage, you risk losing more money to fines, penalties, and possibly even lawsuits.
Catastrophic Injury Lawyer Near Me
For a free legal consultation with a catastrophic injury lawyer serving , call:702-602-HURT
How Nevada Catches Drivers Without Insurance
Nevada makes it extremely difficult for residents to drive without car insurance. The state’s Department of Motor Vehicles keeps insurance information on every registered vehicle in Nevada. Any time you change insurance companies, get a new car, or update your insurance coverage, the state knows.
Because the state has real-time information on your car insurance coverage, they know without pulling you over if your insurance has lapsed or has been canceled. Unlike other states, Nevada doesn’t need you to get caught speeding to find out you don’t have valid auto insurance.
What if You Cause an Accident
Getting pulled over for speeding is bad enough if you cannot show valid insurance. But causing an accident without insurance is even worse. Without insurance, you’re personally liable for the medical bills of anyone who was injured, their vehicle damage, and your vehicle damage.
Because you did not have insurance at the time of the accident, you also don’t have an insurance company to lean on to negotiate and settle the claim with the other driver. Any injured driver or passenger could file a personal injury lawsuit against you and possibly force a sale of your assets to compensate them for their injuries.
Contact Pacific West Injury Law Today
All of this is why you need help. If you have caused an accident without insurance, you should aggressively take steps to reduce your liability and protect your rights.
You have legal rights worth protecting, but you also have massive hurdles to face. To overcome these challenges, you need a lawyer with your best interests at heart. Contact Pacific West Injury Law today to learn more about how we can help protect your rights.
You Don’t Pay Until We Win!
For a free legal consultation, call us today:702-602-HURT