To enjoy your motorcycle experience, you must have met your state’s minimum age requirements. These limits are in place to keep you safe as a rider, a passenger, and a pedestrian. You may be wondering what the age restriction is for motorcycle riders. Let’s take a look.
Age Restrictions When Riding a Motorcycle
Different states have different age restrictions when it comes to riding motorcycles. If you’re in Arkansas, North Dakota, or South Dakota, you must have a license or a permit unless you are riding on private land. However, if you want to ride your motorcycle on public roads, you must be 14 years old.
In some states such as New Mexico, you can get a license from as low as 13 years. You can get a temporary motorcycle permit in Hawaii, Arizona, and Missouri if you’re 15 and half years old. However, you are not allowed to carry a passenger or ride at night.
Other states, such as Rhode Island, Hampshire, and Pennsylvania, only permit people over 16 years to ride. You must first receive a learner’s permit and pass the necessary driving tests to get a driver’s license.
How Do You Get Started?
You will require assistance when you first begin. Such that you will need an experienced motorcyclist or an adult around. This will only be for a few weeks, after which you will be allowed to drive independently.
It is worth noting that some states, such as Colorado, don’t offer motorcycle licenses; they give you endorsements instead. This means you must first get a driver’s license, then do a motorcycle driver’s test. In Georgia, you must have a class-M driver’s license to operate any motorcycle.
M1 and M2 Endorsements: What’s the Difference?
Digital Motor Vehicle considers automobiles as motorized vehicles with less than three wheels and an engine load of 150cc or less. The rider of such automobiles must then possess an M1 motorbike license or an endorsement.
Any rider with an M1 endorsement can ride a motorcycle, moped, or scooter without necessarily having an M2 endorsement. On the other hand, riders with an M2 are prohibited from operating motorcycles with 150cc engines.
What Requirements Do You Need to Meet to Obtain a Motorcycle License?
You can’t apply for a motorcycle license if you haven’t met specific requirements. The requirements for obtaining a motorcycle license are entirely dependent on your state. Therefore you need to go through your state’s laws to determine whether you’re eligible for one.
Your State’s Minimum Age
As discussed in this article, different states have different age requirements for a motorcyclist. Some states allow people as young as 13 years old to obtain a license, while others allow you to be at least 16 or 18 years old. Under 16 years, you can only obtain an instructional permit.
In some states, you need a permit to ride a motorcycle in public. You may get the motorcycle permit at your local DMV, but you must pass a few tests. This two-year permit allows you to ride on public highways but only under supervision.
In some states, you will be required to hold a valid driver’s license before getting or applying for a motorcycle license. If you pass the driving test, you will then need to apply for a motorcycle endorsement.
Motorcycle’s Safety Course
This isn’t the case in every state unless you live in Alabama. This is crucial if you need an M2 endorsement. This course teaches you all the road signs and how to ride safely on public roads.
How does One Get a License?
First, you need to obtain a motorcycle permit. Practice riding the motorcycle using the permit for a minimum period of six months. Then, submit the permit to your local DMV, which will later give you some tests to partake in, some of which are a vision test and a DMV-approved motorcycle driving course, among others.
Note that you will be required to pass all these tests. Additionally, you will have a hands-on test to test your safety measure and bike control skills. Bring the following for the practical test.
- Complete riding gears
- Eye protection gears
- Riding gloves
You might be required to carry additional items. Make sure you confirm with your state’s DVM before the test.
How Old Must You Be to Ride on the Back of a Motorcycle?
No matter how fun driving around town with your child can be, it can also be harmful. Some states don’t let kids under 4feet 9 inches ride on the back of a motorbike. This height is manageable for your child to at least step down and hold on to the rider properly when the motorbike is moving.
In the United States, only a few states have set rules for people who ride in the back of a motorbike. That is Texas, Hawaii, Louisiana, and Washington. The minimum age limit of people riding on the back of motorbikes for these states is five to eight years.
The other 46 states don’t have any age limit restrictions. You’ll have to use your judgment to see if it’s safe for you to carry your child on the back of a motorcycle.
Where Pacific West Injury Law Comes In
Sometimes, despite you following all the laws and regulations of a motorcyclist, you might find yourself or a loved one involved in an accident. Trying to deal with the police, insurance companies, and an unqualified lawyer on your own can be a long and tedious process. This is why you need Pacific West Injury Law to help you get compensated.
Contact a Lawyer at Pacific West Injury Law
We have a personal injury attorney who can assist you recover compensation for medical expenses and injuries. We serve clients to the best of our ability in North Las Vegas, Henderson, and Las Vegas. Contact us today for a free case review.