Whether you have been driving for five years or fifty years, you may have forgotten a driving law or two. While most traffic laws are defined in each state, some are universal and others may be specific to one county, or even one city. For example, in Clark County, home to Henderson and Las Vegas, it is against the law to eat while driving.
As such, you can receive a ticket for not applying 100% of your attention to driving your vehicle. If a forgotten driving law leads to an accident, you may need a local car accident attorney to help you defend your rights. Let’s look at 10 forgotten, or unfamiliar, driving laws.
We all know it is illegal to speed. But do you know the speed limits of the areas you drive? Nevada has some of the highest allotted speed limits in the country.
According to the state Department of Transportation’s (NDOT) speed map, you can travel up to 80 mph along Interstate 80 between Reno and Winnemucca, and in a few other areas along I-80 up to the border with Utah.
But be aware that is the only stretch of highway or roadway in the state that allows that speed. There are other stretches of I-80 that have 75 mph speed limits, however, most highways in the state have a 70-mph limit.
Have you ever come up to a four-way stop and tried to figure out who got there first? What do you do in a tie situation?
It is a national rule that the first car to stop has the right of way. A tie goes to the driver on the right. When in doubt, follow that rule and allow the car to your right to proceed before you do.
This rule also applies when a traffic light is out.
Yielding can be tricky. According to the American Safety Council, drivers must yield:
- When faced with a yield sign
- To another driver already in an intersection with no light or signs
- To another driver on a through road at a “T” intersection
- To oncoming cars, pedestrians, or bikes if you are turning left
- To pedestrians in a crosswalk, and those using a white cane, or a seeing-eye dog
- To moving vehicles when pulling out from a parking space
While you cannot be pulled over for not wearing your seatbelt, you can be cited for the misdemeanor when pulled over for another offense. Remember, in Nevada, anyone older than six years or weighing more than 60 lbs. must always wear a seatbelt and shoulder harness in a moving vehicle.
Nevada’s “Move Over” Law
All drivers must slow down and proceed with caution if they see an emergency vehicle with flashing lights by the side of the road. This also applies to Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT) Freeway Service Patrol vehicles in and around Las Vegas and Reno.
This law, NRS 484B.607, was expanded in 2017, to include doing the same for NDOT vehicles displaying flashing amber or non-flashing blue lights. In any of these instances, drivers should pull over to the far lane when passing, whenever possible.
The Sliding Stop
Unfortunately, some drivers do not seem to understand the meaning of “stop.” Stop means come to a complete stop, as in not moving. That stop should occur before entering a crosswalk or reaching the marked stop line.
Drivers who run a stop sign, or slow down but do not fully stop, are subject to ticketing resulting in a fine. It will also add demerit points to their driving record.
Using Your Turn Signals
Many drivers forget to engage their turn signals which alert other drivers to their intentions. But it is a universal law throughout the country to use them. In Nevada, failure to use a turn signal is a misdemeanor and can result in a fine and one driver’s license demerit point.
Maneuvering in a Roundabout
Roundabouts are increasing across the country as they have proved a safer alternative over stoplights by reducing crashes by 30%, according to the City of Henderson. Roundabouts move in a counterclockwise fashion.
Those already in the roundabout have the right-of-way over vehicles entering it. So do pedestrians and bicyclists. When entering or exiting a roundabout, be sure to use your direction signals.
Cell Phones and Texting
This may not be a forgotten driving law, but it is one often not followed. It is illegal to text, access the internet, or talk on a hand-held phone while driving in Nevada. There is a $50 fine for a first offense.
Subsequent offenses receive higher fines and may include up to four demerit points. Fines can be doubled in work zones and courts can add additional administrative fees. There are a few exceptions for use of a handheld cell phone including reporting of a medical emergency, a safety hazard, or a crime in progress.
Driving for the Conditions of the Road
While posted speed limits remain unchanged due to inclement weather or traffic conditions, the way you drive should change. Under Nevada’s Rules of the Road, drivers need to decrease speed in allotting for road work, pedestrian safety, traffic, and weather conditions.
When You Need a Car Accident Lawyer
The bottom line for most driving laws and to avoid accidents is to avoid driving distracted, pay attention, and follow the rules. By far, the largest contributing factor for car accidents is neglect. Distraction is a form of neglect.
Following a car accident, you could need the help and expertise of an attorney specializing in personal injury law and specifically car accidents. To get proper compensation for your injuries and damages after being hit by another vehicle, you need a legal team that can define and prove who was at fault.
Call Pacific West Injury Law for Help
If you or a loved one has suffered from an automobile accident and need an experienced personal injury attorney in the areas of Las Vegas or Henderson, contact Pacific West Injury Law. We live here and know local and statewide traffic laws, and Nevada’s legal system. And we are dedicated to helping our neighbors who have suffered injuries from car accidents.
Let us help you. Call us today.